Next Step

YUMA, Ariz. – Off the best season in team history, the Arizona Western College women’s soccer team has set its schedule for 2018. The Lady Mats are coming off a trip to the Region I Finals while tying a team-best 15 wins.

The Lady Mats have 20 matches, all in conference play, and they start with a rematch of the Region I semifinals by taking on Pima on Thursday, August 23 at 7:00 p.m. AWC beat the Aztecs in a double-overtime thriller last year on a last second goal by Karla Navarro to advance to the Region I Final.

Following Pima, the Lady Mats are headed to GateWay and Chandler-Gilbert before opening up September at home against Paradise Valley at 7:00 p.m. on Saturday, September 1. AWC then hosts South Mountain on Tuesday, September 4 at 7:00 p.m. The Lady Mats head to Phoenix for a match on Thursday before coming home to face Glendale on Saturday, September 8 at 7:00 p.m. AWC then heads to Scottsdale on September 11 before a weeklong bye.

After the bye, AWC has four of its next five matches at home. Cochise comes to Yuma first on Tuesday, September 18 at 7:00 p.m. Mesa follows the Apaches on Thursday, September 20 at 7:00 p.m. to finish the first half of the season. AWC travels to Pima to open up the second half of the season before coming back home to take on GateWay (Tuesday, September 25 at 7:00 p.m.) and Chandler-Gilbert (Saturday, September 29 at 7:00 p.m.).

AWC has five of its final seven matches on the road in October, starting with trips to Paradise Valley and South Mountain. The Lady Mats are back in Yuma on Saturday, October 6 for a big match with Phoenix at 7:00 p.m. before going back out to Glendale the following Tuesday. AWC takes on Scottsdale in Yuma for sophomore night on Thursday, October 11 at 7:00 p.m. The final two matches are on the road at Cochise (Tuesday, October 16) and Mesa (Thursday, October 18).

The Lady Mats went 15-5-3 on the way to the Region I title game. The team is five for five in playoff appearances in its five year history, and recently announced Nicole Acosta as the new head coach.

Arizona Western College is one of the top community colleges in Arizona. The college boasts partnerships with all three state universities that include face-to-face classes in Yuma.

--MATADORS--

© Arizona Western College